Been so busy…

Posted: November 7, 2010 in Good Stuff

Man I’ve been busy lately!  I haven’t been able to post anything in a while; but I’m here now to jot down some random thoughts to keep the few people who actually check this blog out aware that I’m still doing it.

– My own hockey team, The Black Stokes, has started the season strong.  We are 4-1-2 with our first loss coming last night.  It was a heart breaker with the enemy scoring late in the game to win it.  5 seconds left!  Last night’s loss aside; It’s shaping up to be a good season and I think we have a strong chance at winning it all.

– I’ve come to the realization that my love affair with hockey (and hockey blogging) pivots on the success and failure of the Toronto Maple Leafs.  When they’re playing well my life is all about hockey, when they’re bad – like they are now – my passion fades.  What is up with this team!  It’s going to be a long year… oh well, us Leaf fans are used to it.  The Leafs are a like a bad girl friend; she doesn’t care about you, she cheats and lies; but man she’s good in the sack!  How can you keep away?  Just when you think you’re over her, she comes back and gives you the best loving you’ve ever had.  In the Leafs case it would be winning 3 games in a row or something.  UGH.

– I’m first place in the Billy Talent hockey pool!  There are 10 people in it this year.  Here is my team:

Forwards: Alex Ovechkin, Corey Perry, Daniel Alfredsson, Derek Roy, Dustin Brown, Tomas Plekanec, Patrick Elias, Brandon Dubinsky (Traded Kristen Huselius for him)

Defense: Dan Boyle, Nicklas Lidstrom, PK Subban, Tobias Enstrom

Goalies: Jimmy Howard, Marty Turco

Rules: 4 trades, 1 point for a goal or assist, 0.5 point for shoot out goal, 2 points for a goalie win, 1 point for an overtime or shoot out loss, 3 points for a shut out.

Hopefully my luck continues because I’ve finished 2nd 3 times and 3rd once in the four years we’ve been running this pool.  Maybe it’s my year?

– Can the Penguins get it together?  They seem to have nobody but Crosby and Malkin.  Stay tuned for a blog interview I have coming up with Number 2 from the band Anti-Flag.  He’s a massive Pen’s fan and a good friend who I’ve played lots of hockey with.

– Washington will never win a cup with their style of play.  They looked awful against my lowly leafs in their recent 5-4 shoot out win. They don’t play a team game at all and when a team decides to play a shut down system against them they can be easily stopped.  Proof is last year’s Montreal squad who defeated them in the first round of the playoffs.

– Surprise teams early this season: Columbus, St Louis, Montreal, Dallas, New Jersey (for the bad)

Well that’s it for now, check out this save by Nikolai Khabibulin from the other night:

Comments
  1. ruth says:

    Im a newbie to hockey good-ness, noticing my wonderful Billy Talent’s hockey blog, It helps to segway, my love for good music and new love for hockey, Which team is best? Im liking the rangers so far, maple leafs and any of the orginal 6 are cool but, Which is the team with the richest history and porfessional backing?

    • bigjonnygee says:

      Well, I will always say the Maple Leafs are best, but for the last 10 to 15 years the Detroit Red Wings (another original 6 team) have probably been the best and most consistent team in the NHL, along with maybe New Jersey. The Montreal Canadians and The Toronto Maple Leafs have the richest history. For the Leafs though we haven’t won a cup since 1967.

Leave a comment