Crazy Train

Posted: October 16, 2010 in Good Stuff

I first heard TSN analyst Pierre McGuire call Jordin Tootoo the “Tootoo Train” back in 2003 during the World Junior Hockey Championship.  Tootoo would speed around the ice running over everything in his tracks.  He laid out at least a dozen players helping Canada win the gold. I remember thinking that for a small guy (5’9″) he had a big heart and would make a great NHLer.

Fast forward 7 years later and sure enough he is an NHL player, but great wouldn’t be the adjective I’d attach to Tootoo… more like “scary”.  The guy scares the shit out of me.  He’s crazy!  He’s the type of player that continues to hold back the NHL by reinforcing violent behaviour.  He was up to it again Thursday night during the Predators/Blues game, sucker punching Ryan Reaves.  Tootoo laid out a Blues defenseman behind the St Louis goal and as he skated up the ice Reaves approached him, in a matter of seconds Tootoo’s gloves were off, his fist hit Reaves in the face and Reaves hit the ice.  Reaves may have said something to him and maybe even challenged him; but the speed and the ferocity of Tootoo’s attack was unreal.  I’ve never seen anybody pounce so fast.

Here is video of the punch:

He has done this before.  On March 19, 2007 he was suspended 5 games for knocking out Stephane Robidas of the Dallas Stars.  Check out the footage and watch the speed of his attack.

Vicious.  Robidas didn’t even have a chance.

Don’t get me wrong.  I love the physical aspect of hockey.  Wendel Clark was my favorite player and he could hit and fight with the best of them.  But I hate watching clips like these; they turn my stomach.

It doesn’t look like he will because I haven’t heard any mention of the play being reviewed; but I hope Tootoo get’s suspended for this.  The confused NHL doesn’t seem to know what to do about guys like Tootoo, who take the game from physical to violent.

Comments
  1. Mitchell Zarycki says:

    I’m starting to really like this Blog.

    I have to wonder if the NHL is ever really going to crack down on cheap shots and head shots. It seems like they say that they will every year, but it’s just the same thing over and over again. What’s it going to take? Another Todd Bertuzzi hit from behind for things to finally change? It’s getting to the point where it seems to be just a joke.

    That’s not to say that cheap shots go unpunished, but I think it’s become apparent that being suspended for a few games isn’t enough to really discourage hits to the head or from behind.

    I love tough hockey, but things like Tootoo`s hit just give the NHL a bad name.

Leave a Reply

